Cattle Breeds of India

The most recent calendar of the IndianCouncil of Agricultural Research (ICAR) themed ‘Cattle Breeds of India’, and publishedby the National Bureau of Animal Genetic Resources (NBAGR) features pictures of30 breeds and they are:
1.Amritmahal, Karnataka; 2.Bachaur, Bihar; 3.Bargur, Tamilnadu; 4.Dangi, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh; 5. Deoni, Maharashtra and Karnataka; 6.Gaolao, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh; 7. Gir, Gujrat ;  8. Hallikar, Karnataka; 9. HarianaHaryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan; 10, Kangayam, Tamilnadu; 11. KankrejGujarat and Rajasthan; 12. Kenkatha, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh; 13. Kherigarh,Uttar Pradesh; 14.Khillar, Maharashtra and Karnataka; 15. Krishna Valley, Karnataka; 16. Malvi, Madhya Pradesh; 17. Mewati, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh; 18. Nagori, Rajasthan; 19. Nimari, Madhya Pradesh;  20. Ongole, Andhra Pradesh; 21. Ponwar, Uttar Pradesh; 22. Punganur, Andhra Pradesh; 23.Rathi,Rajasthan;24.Red Kandhari, Maharashtra;  25. Red Sindhi, On organized farms only; 26. Sahiwal, Punjab and Rajasthan; 27. Siri,Sikkim and West Bengal; 28. Tharparkar,Rajasthan; 29. Umblachery, Tamilnadu and  30. Vechur, Kerala.

Here is one of the species Vechur cattle:


Popular posts from this blog

Punganur Cattle